Jimmy's Pop Culture Blog:

Great article about women in comics from the LA Times Hero Complex.

Originally posted on Hero Complex - movies, comics, pop culture - Los Angeles Times:

[lat-gallery="600"]

Selina Kyle’s lacy red bra and its ample, curvy contents fill the first panel of “Catwoman” No. 1, published last year when DC Comics relaunched 52 of its most popular titles. By the last page, she’s straddling Batman and spilling out of her leather suit once more.

Catwoman wasn’t DC’s only female superhero to make her “New 52” debut in lingerie. In “Red Hood and the Outlaws” No. 1, extraterrestrial princess Starfire strikes a Playboy-like pose, bursting out of her purple bikini as she propositions Red Hood. And Voodoo, a shape-shifting half-alien hybrid, spends half of her first issue stripping.

Cover for “Catwoman” No.1 (DC Comics)

Comics blogs buzzed with debate, and critics cried sexism, pointing to the company’s predominantly male creative staff. DC’s rival Marvel Comics often faces similar criticism — the superhero comics genre historically has been a boys’ club.

But a broader look at the world…

View original 1,626 more words

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Great article. It is interesting to see how women are utilizing technology and non-traditional distribution to tell their stories. I want to check out the one that takes place during the Revolutionary War it sounds cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Goodreads

  • RSS Follow my blog!

    • My Blog is a Failure Part Two: Wonder What’s Next? August 11, 2014
      In my last post, I determined that my blog has been a failure primarily due to my inattention, but also because of my own diminishing knowledge of pop culture. But I’m not going to give up on blogging. I’ve blogged for just about ten years now (though at times, and especially recently, I have done […]
      Jimmy's Pop Culture Blog
    • My Blog is a Failure August 7, 2014
      That’s right. I said it. Through my own inactivity this blog has been a failure. It’s also a failure in the fact that I really don’t know what pop culture is anymore. I think I was pretty up on everything until I started grad school four years ago, and I do still stay abreast on […]
      Jimmy's Pop Culture Blog
    • Batman: Arkham Origins April 16, 2014
      Batman: Arkham Origins is the third entry in the Batman: Arkham series. The Arkham games have been tremendously successful, and let gamers everywhere know that good Batman video games are possible. We’d been led to believe otherwise for a long, long time (just a warning that the reviewer cusses somewhat in the linked video). Batman: Arkham Origins is a prequ […]
      Jimmy's Pop Culture Blog
    • We Loves The Bookses Forever! April 12, 2014
      Last post about books for now. Next up will be video games. I’d been hearing great things about Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak ever since I started working with YA literature; one friend even placing it right up with S.E. Hinton’s The Outsiders in terms of its importance to the YA genre. I stumbled across a […]
      Jimmy's Pop Culture Blog
    • Filthy Little Bookses April 8, 2014
      Okay, I guess I’m taking the Gollum reference to its logical conclusion, and slowly but surely I’m catching up on all the reading I’ve done over the past six months. I’m actually glad I don’t write about the books my company publishes as I’d never catch up at this point if I did. Rest assured […]
      Jimmy's Pop Culture Blog
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

