Content Forthcoming

Alright, so I haven’t posted anything aside from my premier post about Child’s Play. There is one simple reason for this: I need material to post! The last new game I was able to play and enjoy was Mega Man 9 when it was released in September…I finished it in four hours the first time. Though I will probably return to older games and talk about them on this blog, I want to make new games the emphasis. Now this means I will have to explain what I mean by “new” games.

There is a slight problem to start off with. I had to forego a large number of games I wanted to play for the past three years because school was my priority. I’m an English major at Utah Valley University, and with all the reading, papers, classes, and etc., I haven’t had much time to spare on all the games I wanted to play. Of course, I did make exceptions for a few big name titles like Zelda and Okami, but I didn’t have the energy to pursue some of the cult titles like Odin Sphere, Disgaea, Ar Tonelico, and many others. Thus I missed out on a bunch of I’d been salivating over, and I’m going to go back to them even if they’re a few years old. I’m mostly finished with school now, so I have plenty of time to once again pursue my favorite hobby. However, I have to concede school will remain my priority until I finish in April.

The other limitation on “new” games is my hardware. I own a Playstation 2, which is still alive but slowly fading; a Wii, which I enjoy, but I have to unfortunately agree with the criticism that Nintendo is largely ignoring their traditional fanbase; and a Nintendo DS that I enjoy as long as the touchscreen is used correctly or not used at all. I would like to own either a Playstation 3, an XBox 360, or both, but, until I can spare the money for one, what I own is what I have to work with.

Phew…I’m glad to have all that out of the way. Now I can talk about where I currently stand on my gameplaying.

I’ve been plodding my way through Dragon Quest IV: Chapters of the Chosen since Christmas, and I’m nearly finished. I’ll have a review up soon after I’ve conquered the last boss. After DQIV will be Ar Tonelico: Melody of Elemia. As mentioned above, I didn’t have a chance to play it, and I wanted to check it out because it sounded intriguing. Perhaps playing it is irrelevant now that its sequel is nearly upon us, but oh well; I’m going to do things my way around here because I can. Following that will likely be Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon.

Hopefully I’ll have my DQIV review up in the next week.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter

  • Goodreads

  • RSS Follow my blog!

    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Conclusion May 24, 2016
      Well, here we are. I’ve reviewed all of the books in The Wheel of Time series individually in the previous for posts. I’d like to conclude with a review of the series as a whole to wrap things up. Also, I’ve included a tl;dr below for any who don’t want to read five long blog […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 4 May 23, 2016
      This post will cover books eleven through fourteen. I have one more post in the works in which I’ll review the series as a whole. For now, time to roll the dice: Book 11 – Knife of Dreams Rand al’Thor senses that The Last Battle is very near, but he doesn’t risk fighting the Dark One’s […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 3 May 20, 2016
      Phew. Just one more post after this one and my series review will be finished. Without further ado: Book 8 – The Path of Daggers After being repelled by Rand al’Thor’s forces in The Great Hunt, the Seanchan return to continue their invasion. Nynaeve and Elayne, having completed their mission, escape Ebou Dar just as the Seanchan […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 2 May 19, 2016
      Picking up where I left off in the previous post. This post will review books four through seven. Book 4 – The Shadow Rising Rand al’Thor has again pushed back the forces of The Dark One and has acquired the legendary sword that is not a sword, Callandor. If that is not enough, the mysterious yet […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 1 May 18, 2016
      A little less than two-and-a-half years ago, I was wanting read fantasy again. It had been a really long time since I’d cracked open a fantasy novel, and I wasn’t sure where to begin. I knew I wanted something epic, and that led me to three options to consider: The Wheel of Time, A Song of […]
      Jimmy
