Reboots

So, I’m a little later on writing this post than I anticipated. Moved this week, and spent some time hanging out with family and friends I’ve not seen for a while. Journey for PS3 hasn’t helped matters much; it consumes me, and I love it. More on that later though. I will talk about reboots in this post, and save Journey for another post.

Anyway, reboots. The last decade has seen a lot of reboots of classic franchises. The first that I remember happening is actually the re-imagined He-Man series that debuted on Cartoon Network in 2002. After that came the second Ninja Turtles cartoon series, and it seems like the reboots just keep coming. Everything from the Batman film franchise to Star Trek, and most recently the entire DC comics universe and Ninja Turtles comics with Spider-Man and Superman film reboots just around the corner. We live in an age of franchise reboots and it doesn’t appear that will change in the foreseeable future. 

But what exactly constitutes a “reboot?” The term is pretty ambiguous and refers to everything from a new entry in a long dormant franchise, parallel stories to a previous story, complete re-imaginings, and new beginnings. But they all tend to have some things in common. First, the goal of the reboot is to reignite interest in a particular franchise and to draw in a new fanbase. Doing so helps to keep the franchise lucrative by creating new fans as well as giving older fans something new to anticipate…at least ideally. They also tend to feature new actors, visual styles, storylines, and so on. From what I can tell, they seem to be really successful, because every time a favorite franchise of mine is getting a reboot in some form I’m usually interested. I have to be honest, I’m super excited for The Amazing Spider-Man coming this summer. On the other hand, there have been a few that leave me wary and suspicious, such as the new TMNT cartoon coming in Fall on Nickelodeon and the upcoming Michael Bay TMNT film. 

Though I can’t deny that a part of me loves the fact that some of my favorite franchises will never die as long as reboots keep happening, I have to admit that I do wish that producers and parent companies would devote more time to creating new material rather than relying on stuff from the 80s to keep their companies afloat. I guess in a way, they are simply playing it safe; they know that old franchises are cash cows so they keep relying on them. 

Really, I can think of only one type of media that really does require an occasional reboot: comic books (or graphic novels if you are so inclined). DC rebooted their entire comics universe with the New 52 last fall. At the same time, the TMNT received a new comic book reboot that, while more cult than DC’s, is still just as exciting for me. I’ll talk about my thoughts on both in my next post, and then maybe I’ll talk about Journey.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. A Year of Anniversaries Part 1: Ten Years of Rurouni Kenshin | Jimmy's Pop Culture Blog

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter

  • Goodreads

  • RSS Follow my blog!

    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Conclusion May 24, 2016
      Well, here we are. I’ve reviewed all of the books in The Wheel of Time series individually in the previous for posts. I’d like to conclude with a review of the series as a whole to wrap things up. Also, I’ve included a tl;dr below for any who don’t want to read five long blog […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 4 May 23, 2016
      This post will cover books eleven through fourteen. I have one more post in the works in which I’ll review the series as a whole. For now, time to roll the dice: Book 11 – Knife of Dreams Rand al’Thor senses that The Last Battle is very near, but he doesn’t risk fighting the Dark One’s […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 3 May 20, 2016
      Phew. Just one more post after this one and my series review will be finished. Without further ado: Book 8 – The Path of Daggers After being repelled by Rand al’Thor’s forces in The Great Hunt, the Seanchan return to continue their invasion. Nynaeve and Elayne, having completed their mission, escape Ebou Dar just as the Seanchan […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 2 May 19, 2016
      Picking up where I left off in the previous post. This post will review books four through seven. Book 4 – The Shadow Rising Rand al’Thor has again pushed back the forces of The Dark One and has acquired the legendary sword that is not a sword, Callandor. If that is not enough, the mysterious yet […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 1 May 18, 2016
      A little less than two-and-a-half years ago, I was wanting read fantasy again. It had been a really long time since I’d cracked open a fantasy novel, and I wasn’t sure where to begin. I knew I wanted something epic, and that led me to three options to consider: The Wheel of Time, A Song of […]
      Jimmy
