I really want to read this book! I’m going to get it once I’ve read through some of the free books I received during the NYU program and that I’ve picked up from work. Maybe I’ll even be able to get this one for free! Here is what my friend Ardi has to say about it.

Nothing But the Rain

Imagine a Manhattan with low slung wooden buildings, little to no police force, and a rural farming community and a wild forrest north of 23rd street…. Is this an alternate universe? No, it’s New York circa 1845. I believe my love of historical fiction is a direct result of my love of fantasy/sci-fi because it is just another genre that transports you to another world in another time, and your imagination is required to recreate scenes that don’t exist in our current waking world. Sometimes, the only difference between a historical novel and a fantasy novel is that the setting in the historical novel was real once (although I think some would argue that fantasy settings are just as real to the reader, they just exist in the mind’s eye).

I had the pleasure of meeting author Lyndsay Faye at a publishing event at NYU about a month ago. She…

View original post 457 more words

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

