A Year of Anniversaries Part 3: 15 Years of Dragon Ball Z

For my third and final anniversary post of the year, I want to talk about Dragon Ball Z!

Around the same time I was discovering blink-182 fifteen years ago, I also made a startling discovery that would shape my taste in comics and cartoons for the rest of my life (well, so far anyway). It was fall of 1998 and for the first time ever my family had satellite TV. Life was good, and I think the whole family was enjoying the new satellite. Among the plethora of new channels was Cartoon Network. Being thirteen, I had largely outgrown cartoons and was beginning to enjoy more “mature” entertainment as well as sports. But I was still in the habit of checking Cartoon Network occasionally to see if there might be anything interesting to watch.

The main cast of DBZ. From the left, Gohan, Bulma, Krillin (Kuririn), Chi-Chi, Goku, and Piccolo.

The main cast of DBZ. From the left, Gohan, Bulma, Krillin (Kuririn), Chi-Chi, Goku, and Piccolo.

One day after school had started, I was using the “guide” feature on our satellite to see what was on the various stations when I saw a title that caught my eye on Cartoon Network. It was called Dragon Ball Z (DBZ). Curious to see what kind of show it was, I started watching. I was really lucky. The first episode of DBZ that I ever saw is episode four where Goku and Piccolo team up to fight Goku’s evil older brother, Raditz. I was shocked. I had never seen anything like it. The ferocity of the action, the power behind the punches, the fluidity of the animation. All of these were far and away different from any cartoon I had ever seen. I didn’t understand what was going on, but I was hooked. I mean instantly hooked. I remember going to football practice afterward completely distracted by what I had just seen. I was back downstairs and in front of the TV waiting for it to start again the next day after school. Not only was I still in awe of the animation, but I couldn’t believe it when the main character, Goku, dies at the end of episode five! I had no clue what to expect, but for the next five years until the series ended in the U.S., I would be at the TV to witness the battles of the Z fighters. In 2001, the original Dragon Ball (DB)series debuted on the Toonami block, and I followed Goku’s childhood adventures with the same fervor. By the time Dragon Ball GT (DBGT) aired in the U.S., I had already seen most of the series through other means so I didn’t follow it very closely (that and I didn’t like the dub all that much). I also watched all thirteen DBZ movies that were out at the time even though I only like a few of them.

But simply enjoying DBZ and the other DB series and movies wasn’t enough. My curiosity for anime grew and grew, and Cartoon Network’s ridiculously awesome promos didn’t help any:

When I couldn’t watch DBZ, I wanted to watch something, anything that was even remotely similar. And I began watching other shows on Cartoon Network like Cowboy Bebop, InuYasha, Full Metal Alchemist, YuYu Hakusho, a few of the Gundam series, and any other anime that I could get via satellite. While trolling for anime one night I discovered Princess Mononoke and was introduced for the first time to the works of Hayao Miyazaki. If it was anime, I was there, but all of it was ancillary to DBZ until 2003.

I already wrote of my introduction to Rurouni Kenshin in 2003. And though it is my favorite series, I would never have discovered it hadn’t it been for DBZ. But little did I know that 2003 would be a pretty momentous year for my love of anime, and for the anime/manga industry in the U.S.

I remember it vividly. I was working in a small town in South Dakota during the summer of 2003 and was at the grocery store when something on the magazine rack caught my eye. It was Goku gracing the cover of the fairly new U.S. version of Shonen Jump magazine. I knew enough by this time that DB and RuroKen had started as weekly series in the Japanese magazine, Weekly Shonen Jump, so I unhesitatingly purchased the magazine. That night in the motel room that was my home for the summer I sat down and read manga for the first time in my life. Here were the comics that had inspired some of my favorite anime plus a few that I had never seen or heard of before. I was immediately impressed by one series in particular. It was a little known series at the time featuring a young ninja in training named Naruto. A few years later Naruto along with Bleach and One Piece (all of which made their first official U.S. debuts in Shonen Jump magazine) would become international media juggernauts, and I followed them closely through the pages of Shonen Jump and would later watch the anime. And none of this would have happened without DBZ.

The August 2003 issue of the U.S. version of Shonen Jump magazine. My very first issue!

The August 2003 issue of the U.S. version of Shonen Jump magazine. My very first issue!

DBZ continues to be popular. Recently the anime was recut to follow the original manga series more closely. This recut edition was renamed Dragon Ball Z Kai (DBZ Kai) and currently airs in the U.S. on The CW‘s Saturday morning block, Vortexx. And it’s funny, after all these years, I’m still excited to watch it every Saturday. There was also a brand new movie released in Japan earlier this year, and it will be coming to the U.S. soon (though I don’t think an official release date has been set). It’s called Dragon Ball Z: Battle of the Gods and takes place shortly after the end of the DBZ anime series. Toriyama Akira, the creator of Dragon Ball, was directly involved in the production, and it sounds like it was pretty successful. There are even rumors floating about of a new TV series and more movies to come! Naturally, if and when that happens, I’ll be there!

I thought I could create a bit of a guide to what is available as I did with my previous RuroKen post, but quite frankly there is just too much out there. There is the original manga series, Dragon Ball, which is still in print in various formats in the U.S., as well as being available digitally through the Viz Media app. There are three animated series that I listed previously, and they are also readily available in various formats. DBZ Kai, currently airs on Saturday mornings on The CW. There are thirteen movies, a couple of TV specials (both of which are excellent), plus the new movie, Battle of the Gods. On top of that there are numerous video games, a collectible card game, and probably a lot more out there that I don’t even know about. There’s even a terrible live-action movie! That’s a lot, and if you haven’t read or seen anything Dragon Ball related before I’d highly recommend checking out the manga (be warned though that the manga does have some mature content), or watching an episode of DBZ Kai on Saturday morning. I don’t think you’ll regret it.

It has been fifteen years since I discovered DBZ on Cartoon Network, and here’s the craziest thing about it all: I still read the manga, and I watch DBZ Kai on Saturday morning on The CW. On top of that, the American edition of Shonen Jump that I subscribed to back in summer of 2003, well I’m still a subscriber. The print edition of the magazine was discontinued April 2012 and the magazine was moved to the digital medium with weekly releases. I do kind of miss the print magazine. It was something I looked forward to receiving every month, but with the digital releases I can keep up with my favorite series, continue to experience my favorite manga, as well as find new series. The publisher, Viz Media, has also released a lot of their backlist of translated manga volumes digitally, including all of Dragon Ball. It’s one of my favorite apps on my phone, and all of this because I wondered what the heck Dragon Ball Z was and watched an episode.

516HKHZHY6L

DBZ truly expanded my horizons as far as animation, comics, and storytelling are concerned. And for the last fifteen years I’ve enjoyed various anime and manga series, including my favorite comic book series American, Japanese, or otherwise, Rurouni Kenshin. So thanks Mr. Toriyama, Cartoon Network, FUNimation, and Viz Media for bringing DBZ stateside and affecting my life in the way it has.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection F – Movie Review | Jimmy's Pop Culture Blog

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter

  • Goodreads

  • RSS Follow my blog!

    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Conclusion May 24, 2016
      Well, here we are. I’ve reviewed all of the books in The Wheel of Time series individually in the previous for posts. I’d like to conclude with a review of the series as a whole to wrap things up. Also, I’ve included a tl;dr below for any who don’t want to read five long blog […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 4 May 23, 2016
      This post will cover books eleven through fourteen. I have one more post in the works in which I’ll review the series as a whole. For now, time to roll the dice: Book 11 – Knife of Dreams Rand al’Thor senses that The Last Battle is very near, but he doesn’t risk fighting the Dark One’s […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 3 May 20, 2016
      Phew. Just one more post after this one and my series review will be finished. Without further ado: Book 8 – The Path of Daggers After being repelled by Rand al’Thor’s forces in The Great Hunt, the Seanchan return to continue their invasion. Nynaeve and Elayne, having completed their mission, escape Ebou Dar just as the Seanchan […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 2 May 19, 2016
      Picking up where I left off in the previous post. This post will review books four through seven. Book 4 – The Shadow Rising Rand al’Thor has again pushed back the forces of The Dark One and has acquired the legendary sword that is not a sword, Callandor. If that is not enough, the mysterious yet […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 1 May 18, 2016
      A little less than two-and-a-half years ago, I was wanting read fantasy again. It had been a really long time since I’d cracked open a fantasy novel, and I wasn’t sure where to begin. I knew I wanted something epic, and that led me to three options to consider: The Wheel of Time, A Song of […]
      Jimmy
