My Blog is a Failure

That’s right. I said it. Through my own inactivity this blog has been a failure.

It’s also a failure in the fact that I really don’t know what pop culture is anymore. I think I was pretty up on everything until I started grad school four years ago, and I do still stay abreast on a lot of things that are happening. But as I’ve seen over the last few months online, at expos, and in recently having some interaction with children for the first time in a long time, I’ve seen the errors of my ways! I’m so far behind on pop culture that I would have to immerse myself in it to catch up, and I quite simply do not have the time or energy to do that. As such, it makes no sense for my blog to continue in its current format as a pop culture blog. 

 So is this the end of Jimmy’s blog? That answer is no.

Though I’ve almost always updated sporadically, the fact is that I’ve been blogging since shortly after graduating high school. My first blog started on a tool that, I think, is long since defunct, Great Journal. Honestly, I don’t even remember what that blog was about anymore. I then made the move to LiveJournal, where I blogged pretty regularly for a while. It was a personal blog though I talked a lot about video games since many of my LJ friends were gamers from an online message board I used to frequent (and still do frequent, though not as often). At some point I killed the LJ. I deleted my account and with it all of my content and not long afterward I began blogging on Google’s blogging tool with a blog solely focused on video games. It’s still there, and surprisingly enough it still gets views even though I haven’t updated it in two years since I made the move to WordPress. I even transferred all of my old blog posts from the Google blog to this one. I started this blog because the NYU Summer Publishing Institute required we have a WordPress account and to post in it as often as possible throughout the program. I forget why exactly, but I assume it was to give the students online visibility to employers when applying for jobs. During that summer of two years ago, one of my posts had over 70 unique views over the course of 24 hours. I know that sounds meager, but it is my personal best. Though once I got a job and fell out of the habit of blogging regularly, I was never able to reach that number again, and now my posts struggle to get even two or three views since I update so infrequently.

I digress, however. A blog is more than just its page views and sharing things with friends and followers. A blog is a personal tool for whatever use a blogger chooses to use it. I’ve blogged for personal reasons, I’ve blogged to share my love of all things video games, I’ve blogged to give myself a professional presence, and I’ve blogged to share the stories from various medias that I consume. 

The point is this: my blog isn’t going away. It will change; that much is certain. I won’t pull another LJ stunt though and delete my account and all of my content. I’m going to work hard at getting my blog going again, and this time with a new emphasis. A new mission. I’ll be detailing that mission over the next few days, and revamping the blog somewhat in the process. Stay tuned, because as the immortal Arnold Schwarzenegger once said, I’ll be back.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter

  • Goodreads

  • RSS Follow my blog!

    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Conclusion May 24, 2016
      Well, here we are. I’ve reviewed all of the books in The Wheel of Time series individually in the previous for posts. I’d like to conclude with a review of the series as a whole to wrap things up. Also, I’ve included a tl;dr below for any who don’t want to read five long blog […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 4 May 23, 2016
      This post will cover books eleven through fourteen. I have one more post in the works in which I’ll review the series as a whole. For now, time to roll the dice: Book 11 – Knife of Dreams Rand al’Thor senses that The Last Battle is very near, but he doesn’t risk fighting the Dark One’s […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 3 May 20, 2016
      Phew. Just one more post after this one and my series review will be finished. Without further ado: Book 8 – The Path of Daggers After being repelled by Rand al’Thor’s forces in The Great Hunt, the Seanchan return to continue their invasion. Nynaeve and Elayne, having completed their mission, escape Ebou Dar just as the Seanchan […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 2 May 19, 2016
      Picking up where I left off in the previous post. This post will review books four through seven. Book 4 – The Shadow Rising Rand al’Thor has again pushed back the forces of The Dark One and has acquired the legendary sword that is not a sword, Callandor. If that is not enough, the mysterious yet […]
      Jimmy
    • The Wheel of Time – Series Review Part 1 May 18, 2016
      A little less than two-and-a-half years ago, I was wanting read fantasy again. It had been a really long time since I’d cracked open a fantasy novel, and I wasn’t sure where to begin. I knew I wanted something epic, and that led me to three options to consider: The Wheel of Time, A Song of […]
      Jimmy
